GARLIC-INFUSED OLIVE OIL

The name ‘Average Food Blog’ is intended to connote the kind of culinary fare that no self-respecting foodie ponce would touch with a spelt baguette, let alone deign to write about. Any item of food with the word ‘infused’ on the label, one would therefore have thought, falls firmly outside our remit.

And yet. And yet. And yet. And yet. (etc.)

I enjoy garlic-infused olive oil. I’m not proud to admit it, but I’m not ashamed either. If AFB (yes, we have an acronym now) teaches us anything (and it does), it is that one should not be elitist about what one chooses to consume and subsequently write about. So I’d like to avoid the kind of inverse elitism that dictates that one should not write about things with ‘infused’ on the label.

So there it is: I like garlic-infused olive oil. I could say that I like it drizzled on things, but that, I fear, would be a step too far. ‘Drizzled’ surely ranks even higher than ‘infused’ in the lexicon of foodular wankery. So I’ll say ‘squirted’. Or perhaps ‘plonked’. Were garlic infused olive oil to stand in either of these relations to my bowl of linguine allo scoglio (al dente), I would be a very happy camper.

In other news: has anyone else noticed the variable quality of foie gras lately?

Leave a Reply

